Prompted Rationality

International Advisory Board

With respect to scientific matters, the International Advisory Board can be asked for advice. The members of the advisory board are world-class researchers that all have agreed to participate and are available for annual progress meetings. The International Advisory Board consists of the following members:


  • Luc Bovens is Professor of Philosophy, Politics and Economics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an associate in the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment of the London School of Economics and Political Science. He is an internationally recognized expert on the philosophy of public policy, and rational and social choice theory.
  • Daniel T. Gilbert is the Edgar Pierce Professor of Psychology at Harvard University. He is internationally recognized as the expert on flaws in social causal attribution and affective forecasting in the context of social and financial decision making. He is member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • Richard M. Ryan is professor at the Institute for Positive Psychology and Education at the Australian Catholic University and research professor at the University of Rochester. He has received three lifetime achievement awards for his contributions to the science of self, human autonomy and well-being. He is ranked among the top 1% of researchers in his field
  • Edward Melhuish is Professor of Human Development at the University of Oxford. He is internationally recognized as an expert on social policy in the area of families with young children, early years services and education. He serves as a consultant to the European Commission, UNESCO, OECD and WHO on these matters.
  • Rosemary O’Leary is the Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at the University of Kansas. She is the recipient of several lifetime achievement awards for her contributions to political science and public administration.
  • Lucia Reisch is Professor of Consumer Behavior and Consumer Policy at Copenhagen Business School. She is internationally recognized as an expert on sustainable consumption and member of the German Council for Sustainable Development. She is an elected member of the German Academy of Technical Sciences.
  • Sim B. Sitkin is the Michael W. Krzyzewski University Professor of Leadership at Duke University. He is the co-founder of the Behavioral Science & Policy Association, a non-profit global community of top scholars and practitioners with the bold mission to promote the application of rigorous behavioral science research that serve the public interest.
  • Cass Sunstein is the Robert Walmsley University Professor of Law at Harvard University. From 2009 to 2012, he was Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs. Sunstein is the 2018 recipient of the Holberg Prize (‘the Nobel Prize for Law’) for his outstanding scientific work that has ‘reshaped our understanding of the relationship between the modern regulatory state and constitutional law’.